Pushdo spams a Trojan that downloads Asprox
Last week, we noticed a high volume malicious spam campaign using a “$50 iTunes Gift Certificate” theme. The spam was emitted from the Pushdo/Cutwail botnet.

This wasn’t the first time we had seen Pushdo using this specific “Gift Certificate” theme. A campaign was first observed in mid May where the Bredolab downloader Trojan was embedded in an RTF (Rich text format) file attachment. Bredolab, also known as Sasfis or Oficla by various antivirus vendors, is known to be responsible for installing the Pushdo/Cutwail spambot, as well as Zbot and fake antivirus on to the infected host.
With this latest iTunes campaign, instead of using an RTF document as the malware container, a ZIP archive was used. Although both the previous and latest spam campaigns contain the same type of downloader Trojan, the payload was different. The previous payload downloaded and installed fake antivirus, while this latest one downloaded and executed Asprox – a spambot we have not seen active for over a year.
The image above shows the downloader contacting its command and control server. The red text shows the downloader “phone home” to its command and control via the domain name funnylive2010.ru. The HTTP GET request incorporates essential bot parameters for the command and control server such as the bot version and ID as well as the date when the bot was installed. The blue text shows the reply from the command server that issues a runurl command to download and execute a binary from a URL link. That URL link points to an Asprox executable. The domain name funnylive2010.ru is hosted behind a fast-flux network where the IP address constantly changes. Here is the Whois information:
domain: FUNNYLIVE2010.RU nserver: ns1.funnylive2010.ru. 67.247.69.183 nserver: ns2.funnylive2010.ru. 24.170.54.248 nserver: ns3.funnylive2010.ru. 98.235.148.218 nserver: ns4.funnylive2010.ru. 97.89.228.33 state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED, VERIFIED person: Private Person phone: +79766512311 e-mail: kurk@sovbiz.net
registrar: NAUNET-REG-RIPN created: 2010.03.14 paid-till: 2011.03.14 source: TCI
Asprox phones home and spams the same Trojan downloader
After the Asprox bot is downloaded and installed in the system, it immediately does some internet connectivity checks by sending SYN packets to ns.uk2.net, www.yahoo.com and www.web.de.com. The bot then attempts to phone home to its command server by sending an HTTP POST request, which looks similar to this:
The command server is again hosted behind a fast-flux network which uses the domain name porsche911start.ru. Here is the Whois lookup:
domain: PORSCHE911START.RU nserver: ns1.porsche911start.ru. 81.110.164.220 nserver: ns2.porsche911start.ru. 24.170.54.248 nserver: ns3.porsche911start.ru. 69.207.117.210 nserver: ns4.porsche911start.ru. 97.93.131.158 state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED, VERIFIED person: Private Person phone: +7976651111 e-mail: ssa@yandex.ru
registrar: NAUNET-REG-RIPN created: 2010.05.23 paid-till: 2011.05.23 source: TCI
The command server then replies with an encrypted XML file that contains further command and control information, and a spamming template:

In the image above, the Asprox command server domains are listed. Its interesting that Whois lookup information reveal that Pushdo, Bredolab/Oficla/Sasfis and Asprox have something in common – all of the domains they connect to are registered at the same registrar, registered by a “Private Person”, with similar looking phone numbers.
1. CL63AMGSTART.RU
domain: CL63AMGSTART.RU nserver: ns1.cl63amgstart.ru. 99.246.20.196 nserver: ns2.cl63amgstart.ru. 24.170.54.248 nserver: ns3.cl63amgstart.ru. 75.81.189.14 nserver: ns4.cl63amgstart.ru. 69.207.117.210 state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED, VERIFIED person: Private Person phone: +79766512344 e-mail: ssa1@yandex.ru registrar: NAUNET-REG-RIPN created: 2010.05.23 paid-till: 2011.05.23 source: TCI
2. HYPERVMSYS.RU
domain: HYPERVMSYS.RU nserver: ns1.hypervmsys.ru. 81.110.164.220 nserver: ns2.hypervmsys.ru. 67.247.69.183 nserver: ns3.hypervmsys.ru. 24.170.54.248 nserver: ns4.hypervmsys.ru. 97.89.228.33 state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED, VERIFIED person: Private Person phone: +79766512311 e-mail: vadim.rinatovich@yandex.ru registrar: NAUNET-REG-RIPN created: 2010.03.30 paid-till: 2011.03.30 source: TCI
3. ML63AMGSTART.RU
nserver: ns1.ml63amgstart.ru. 67.247.69.183 nserver: ns2.ml63amgstart.ru. 72.252.193.94 nserver: ns3.ml63amgstart.ru. 69.207.117.210 nserver: ns4.ml63amgstart.ru. 24.153.239.180 state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED, VERIFIED person: Private Person phone: +79766542344 e-mail: ssa21@yandex.ru registrar: NAUNET-REG-RIPN created: 2010.05.23 paid-till: 2011.05.23 source: TCI
At this point, Asprox receives and decrypts an XML file with the filename “COMMON.BIN” and the spamming begins. The spam template received was a fake UPS notification spam campaign.
Here is the decrypted spam template:
And here is the actual spam we received in our spam traps last week sent by the Asprox bot. The spam contains a ZIP attachment of a Bredolab downloader Trojan:

Asprox updates and spam continues
The spam coming from the Asprox botnet dried up temporarily last weekend. However, on the first day of June, the spamming resumed – this time focused on pharmaceutical campaigns.
During our analysis we also noticed that an updated binary was also downloaded. The packet capture below shows the bot downloading an updated version of the Asprox binary from its command and control server. The domain name hypervmsys.ru was again used in this case.
Conclusion
With the help of Pushdo and Bredolab downloader, it seems Asprox has risen from the dead to build another spamming bot network. The above analysis also highlights the intricate relationships between individual malware components, and hint at a common gang behind it all.




